What is robbery?

When you think of robbery in New Jersey, you might think of taking something that doesn’t belong to you. This is only half of the definition as robbery also typically involves violence or the threat of violence when the crime is committed.

Details of the charge

Robbery is a type of aggravated theft crime because an act of violence is committed or threatened in order for you to be charged with it. An “aggravated” crime typically comes with consequences that are more severe if you’re convicted. If a theft occurs and any kind of bodily injury occurs, then the charge could be elevated to robbery.

Purpose

In order for you to be charged with robbery, there needs to be a clear purpose to commit an injury or a clear threat to inflict an injury of some kind while taking part in the theft of the belongings of the victim. According to criminal law, you could be charged with first-degree robbery if you tried to kill the victim during the course of the crime or if there was a plan in place to kill the victim before the crime was committed.

Penalties

If you’re convicted of second-degree robbery, which doesn’t involve the use of a weapon, then you could be sentenced to up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000. A first-degree conviction could result in up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $200,000.

During the commission of a theft, you could be charged with robbery if there is any violent act or threat of violence involved whether or not a weapon is used.

You may also like…

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

In 2020, approximately 190,783 car accidents occurred in New Jersey. Unfortunately, anyone who drives or rides in a car is at risk for a collision. A collision shakes up your life and can leave you with lifelong injuries. However, you have the legal right to request...

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

Charges for driving while impaired or under the influence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense. Consequences often involve a driver's license revocation, jail time, or even fines of $10,000 or more. If you're facing charges or you're reading this for...