New Jersey DUI: What You Should Know

New Jersey DUI: What You Should Know

Did you know that driving while intoxicated is one of the most frequently charged offenses in New Jersey? According to the Department of Justice, in 2013, over 24,000 people were arrested for DUI in New Jersey. This works out to be about 65 DUI arrests each day, which is a lot.

Driving while intoxicated might be a very common charge, however, the legal process can be very stressful and difficult to navigate. It would be in your best interest to seek the help of an expert NJ DUI attorney to help you with your case.

It’s essential that you’re familiar with what a DUI conviction is. The majority of states will refer to drunk driving as a DUI, which means merely driving while under the influence. In New Jersey, the offense is called DWI, meaning Driving While Intoxicated. The wording might vary, however, the mean is still the same.

Penalties For DWI in New Jersey

Common penalties for DWI in New Jersey include the following:

Suspension of your driver’s license

  • Assorted fines and fees
  • Community service
  • Breath alcohol ignition interlock devices

The penalties that you’ll receive if convicted will depend on your BAC, whether it’s your first offense, and if you were under 21 at the time.

The penalties for your first DWI offense with a BAC of at least 0.08%, but less than 0.10%, is as follows:

  • Sentence – Up to 30 days
  • License Suspension – 3 months
  • Community Service/IID/IDRC – 12 to 48 hours IDRC
  • Fines and Fees
  • General Fine – $250 to $400
  • IDRC Fee – $230
  • Drunk Driving Fund – $100
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) – $100
  • Surcharge – $1,000/year for 3 years ($3,000 total)
  • Neighborhood Services Fund – $75

Contact An Experienced New Jersey DUI Attorney Today

Were you charged with a DUI in New Jersey and are in need of legal representation? The expert DUI attorneys at The Maduabum Law Firm can help. Give us a call today at (973) 732-1490.

You may also like…

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

In 2020, approximately 190,783 car accidents occurred in New Jersey. Unfortunately, anyone who drives or rides in a car is at risk for a collision. A collision shakes up your life and can leave you with lifelong injuries. However, you have the legal right to request...

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

Charges for driving while impaired or under the influence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense. Consequences often involve a driver's license revocation, jail time, or even fines of $10,000 or more. If you're facing charges or you're reading this for...

What can you expect when taking the naturalization test?

If you are an immigrant living in New Jersey who has always wished to become a United States citizen, you can prepare for the naturalization test. Once you have your interview and pass, you can look forward to a whole new future. This is what to expect with the...