Will your car be impounded after a DUI arrest?

Your life can turn upside down if you are arrested for driving under the influence in New Jersey. Even if you are not convicted, you can expect to have your driver’s license suspended and your car to be impounded. This is what that means for you.

Vehicle impoundment after a DUI

Driving under the influence carries many negative consequences. Under state law, your vehicle can be impounded for at least 12 hours. While you cannot get it yourself due to your driving privileges being suspended as your case is pending, you can have someone else pick it up for you after those 12 hours have passed. You are also responsible for all fees, which must be paid in full before your vehicle is returned to you.

Before the police can impound your vehicle, however, you must submit to a breath test to determine whether your blood alcohol concentration is over the legal limit. If you have the test and your BAC is lower, the police won’t have a reason to impound your car.

On the other hand, if you refuse to take a breath test, the police can automatically impound your vehicle.

Police can search your car

If you are arrested for DUI, the police may be permitted to search your vehicle during the impound. However, they need a warrant to do that and can only obtain one when the circumstances of your arrest make it plausible to perform a search. For example, if beer bottles were clearly visible at the time of your arrest, the police can obtain a search warrant to search your vehicle.

DUI charges can be challenged. The best thing you can do to protect yourself is to find the best defense for your case.

You may also like…

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

In 2020, approximately 190,783 car accidents occurred in New Jersey. Unfortunately, anyone who drives or rides in a car is at risk for a collision. A collision shakes up your life and can leave you with lifelong injuries. However, you have the legal right to request...

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

Charges for driving while impaired or under the influence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense. Consequences often involve a driver's license revocation, jail time, or even fines of $10,000 or more. If you're facing charges or you're reading this for...

What can you expect when taking the naturalization test?

If you are an immigrant living in New Jersey who has always wished to become a United States citizen, you can prepare for the naturalization test. Once you have your interview and pass, you can look forward to a whole new future. This is what to expect with the...