What are the most costly traffic tickets in New Jersey?

No driver wants to end up being pulled over by New Jersey police for a traffic violation. Unfortunately, it could happen, and you could be left with one of the most expensive traffic tickets.

What are the costliest traffic tickets?

If a person gets into a car accident and then flees the scene, it’s considered a hit and run, which is a felony. Police can track the individual down if there’s enough evidence left behind and the victim retains enough information about their vehicle or license plate number. A ticket can run into the $2,500 range.

An arrest for driving under the influence can cost close to $2,500 even if the person doesn’t hit another vehicle or person. A police officer can issue a charge of DUI if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration is .08 or higher.

Drag racing is perhaps the priciest traffic ticket a person could receive. It can run as high as almost $2,900. Racing is a serious traffic violation because it can put people’s lives at risk.

A ticket for reckless driving can cost a person nearly $2,400.

Refusing to submit to a chemical test if a police officer requests it is a serious traffic violation that carries equally serious consequences. One of them is a traffic ticket that costs over $2,400.

If a person drives on a suspended driver’s license, they could receive a ticket as high as around $2,400.

What should you do if you get a traffic ticket?

Receiving a traffic ticket isn’t something that should be taken lightly. Over time points against your license can add up. Anytime you have a traffic violation on your record, it can cause your auto insurance premiums to increase. Depending on the violations, insurers might not want to cover you at all.

You may also like…

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

7 Personal Injury Claim Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

In 2020, approximately 190,783 car accidents occurred in New Jersey. Unfortunately, anyone who drives or rides in a car is at risk for a collision. A collision shakes up your life and can leave you with lifelong injuries. However, you have the legal right to request...

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

Charges for driving while impaired or under the influence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense. Consequences often involve a driver's license revocation, jail time, or even fines of $10,000 or more. If you're facing charges or you're reading this for...