Articles: DUI
Can You Drive After a DUI Before Court Date?

Can You Drive After a DUI Before Court Date?

  Have you ever wondered what happens if you're arrested for a DUI in New Jersey? Understanding the laws surrounding DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is crucial, especially if you find yourself in a situation where you're facing charges. In this guide, we'll explore the legal maze of DUI in New Jersey, focusing on the specific regulations that apply to residents. Immediate Consequences of a DUI Arrest A DUI arrest is no small matter. The moment you're charged, several things are set in...

A Step-by-Step Guide on What to Do After Getting a DUI Charge in New Jersey

A Step-by-Step Guide on What to Do After Getting a DUI Charge in New Jersey

Did you know that anybody who operates a motorized vehicle that has a drive train such as an automobile, a motorized watercraft, and a lawnmower can get a DUI offense? Getting charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey can be a scary and overwhelming experience. You might be worried that you will lose your license. It is also normal to be concerned about paying fines. The good news is that there are several simple steps you can do after getting a DUI charge to protect...

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

How to Choose a DUI Lawyer: Everything You Need to Know

Charges for driving while impaired or under the influence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense. Consequences often involve a driver's license revocation, jail time, or even fines of $10,000 or more. If you're facing charges or you're reading this for someone you love, it's crucial to choose a DUI lawyer who will fight for your rights, walk you through the process, and ensure you get the best outcome for your case. So, how do you choose a lawyer, knowing everything that's on the...

Will your car be impounded after a DUI arrest?

Your life can turn upside down if you are arrested for driving under the influence in New Jersey. Even if you are not convicted, you can expect to have your driver's license suspended and your car to be impounded. This is what that means for you. Vehicle impoundment after a DUI Driving under the influence carries many negative consequences. Under state law, your vehicle can be impounded for at least 12 hours. While you cannot get it yourself due to your driving privileges being suspended as...

Fatal DUI risks

Drunk driving continues to be the reason for many fatal accidents in New Jersey and around the country. Persons dealing with substance abuse issues might not exercise proper judgment, choosing to get behind the wheel of their car while intoxicated. Of course, even those who only make a one-time mistake might cause a DUI-related accident. Criminal charges may follow, even when an accident doesn’t occur. DUI DANGERS Drunk driving statistics reveal dangers on the roads. In 2020, persons under the...

When do New Jersey authorities use breathalyzer tests?

New Jersey drivers might be familiar with the concept of a breathalyzer test. But many might not know how the test works or when it’s used.Usually, a breathalyzer test is ordered when a cop pulls someone over for suspected drunk driving. But it’s just one type of sobriety test available to New Jersey officers. WHAT IS A BREATHALYZER TEST? After someone drinks alcohol, it’s usually absorbed by the stomach, small intestine, and lungs – among other organs. Because of this, alcohol will usually be...

New Jersey man loses driving privileges for life as part of DUI sentence

One of the most persuasive reasons for individuals facing drunk driving charges to retain competent counsel is the potential of losing driving privileges for a long time – perhaps even for life. A recently announced sentence in a New Jersey drunk driving case demonstrates the validity of this caution. The collision The case began when […]

How to defend against a DUI charge

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol may increase your risk of being involved in a car accident. It can also result in criminal penalties such as spending time in a New Jersey jail or the loss of your driving privileges. However, there are a number of strategies that you can use to cast […]

3 mistakes police make at DUI stops

Getting charged for a DUI in New Jersey can be intimidating. Even people who are innocent sometimes feel pressured to take a plea deal. However, the more you know about your legal rights, the better equipped you will be to defend your case. Police must act lawfully during a DUI traffic stop. If your rights […]

Prescription medication could result in a DUI charge

If a New Jersey police officer has reason to believe that you are driving while under the influence of a controlled substance, your vehicle may be stopped. During a traffic stop, that officer will look for any signs that you are operating a motor vehicle while impaired. These signs may include the presence of prescription […]